Sitters - Kindred Spirits House Sit or Swap

House Sitter

Sharon – Versatile Vegan Vet Nurse
Companion animal care experience
Dog, Cat, Fish, Birds, Cows, Sheep, Pigs, Goats, Horses
Will sit non-vegetarian companion animals
Yes
Wish to bring our own companion animal
No
Status
Single
Vegan / Vegetarian
Vegan
Willing to do gardening
Yes

Hello! I’m a writer and veterinary nurse who adores meeting new human and animal friends. I accidentally fell into housesitting three years ago and have had a steady stream of bookings ever since – mainly through word of mouth.
As we enter 2019, I’m preparing to settle down on the southern end of the Gold Coast. While builders are renovating my new home from late February until early April, I’ll be looking for a nearby housesitting position within an hour’s drive of my place (just so I can pop in occasionally to see how things are progressing).
I work as a writing coach and book editor. As long as I have my laptop, internet access and solitude, I can base myself at home for most of each day, which works out well for my animal companions. And because I’m a veterinary nurse, you can rest assured that any animals in my care will be expertly handled and observed … while of course being diligently spoilt!
One of my specialities is animals who need a deeper sense of understanding and presence to feel happy and peaceful. People often book me to care for rescue dogs and other animal folk who’ve had a rough time with humans. While studying veterinary nursing I worked at a canine rehabilitation centre, so I’ve learned to deal with an interesting range of doggy personalities and dynamics. Within the next few years, I’m aiming to create my own sanctuary (place of peace) in the Gold Coast hinterland, where people can come to eat yummy cruelty-free food while making friends with the types of farmed animals they perhaps haven’t yet had a chance to meet.
Having been a long-term home owner, I’m conscious of the attention to detail and practical care that go into maintaining a beautiful property. My tasks during housesits have included maintaining in-ground pools and organic veggie gardens while caring for a range of animals – from the most petulant pig to the snuggliest spoodle. I’ve helped a cow to deliver her calf (hello, little Astro!), and one of my favourite return gigs is at a beautiful home near Byron Bay, where I care for a delightful little teddy bear of a dog who’s now one of my best mates (howdy, Buster!).
All my housesitting clients have asked me to return (link to written references available on request).
Thanks for taking the time to read my profile, and all the best in your search for the right person to care for your home and animal companions.

Would like to sit in:

  • Australia, Gold Coast,
  • Australia, Springbrook,
Preferred length of sit:
Min 5 Weeks

Sign in or register to send messages

You must be a member to send messages Click Here to sign up
already a member, login here