Sitters - Kindred Spirits House Sit or Swap

House Sitter

Barb & Becky – Compassion is Our Passion!
Companion animal care experience
Dog, Cat, Fish, Birds
Will sit non-vegetarian companion animals
Yes
Wish to bring our own companion animal
Yes
Status
Couple
Vegan / Vegetarian
Vegan
Willing to do gardening
Yes

Hi there…
We are Barb, Becky, and MeowMeow (our kitty).

We recently purchased an old van with the intentions of converting it to a tiny home on wheels. We will soon be finished with our van build, which we intend to live in full-time while traveling throughout the United States, Canada, and Mexico, and It is our hope to be able to house-sit from time to time in order to save on traveling costs, as well as to take a break from the road and all the stresses that come with it! Although we will spend most of our time in North America, we would absolutely love the opportunity to travel abroad, as well. This, however, will require some advance planning.

About us… we are ethical vegans who do our best to refrain from harming others, which means we do not eat animals or their by-products. We adore animals and would be happy to stay in homes where pet-sitting is needed, even if the companion animal is not the traditional ‘dog and cat’ that most people consider to be ‘pets’. Although we respect that all animals are equal and have as much right to be here as you or I, we could not pet-sit a spider. Sorry, but I, personally, have major arachnophobia! Becky is a bit scared of mice, but I have no problem with them, so we could pet-sit rodents. I would personally take care of them. Just no spiders… please, and thank you!

We both have health problems that affect our ability to do a lot of heavy lifting, stooping and bending, standing for extended periods, climbing a lot of stairs/steps, or endure extreme temperatures. However, we are able to do some of the less-strenuous household and outdoor chores, if necessary. Just let us know what you need done and we will inform you as to our abilities to do those particular activities. While neither of us proclaim to have a green thumb, we are happy to water plants and do some weeding, but please leave detailed instructions.

An opportunity to earn extra income would also be welcome. We have skills! Mostly technical, writing, and other creative skills… but skills, nonetheless. I make jewelry and wire art, do some painting on canvas, a little crafting of various sorts. I also do some creative writing, blogging, research, etc., and have a background in customer service, human resources, and administrative support. A Jill of All Trades :).

Becky is currently a full-time student, pursuing a Masters in Marketing. She has completed a Bachelors degree in Information Technology. As for me, I have a Bachelors degree in Environmental Management, Masters in Occupational Safety & Health/Environmental Management concentration, and a 2nd Masters in Emergency Services Management.

Because of school and freelance/contract work opportunities, a WiFi connection would be extremely helpful!

As for ‘where’ we would like to housesit, it will depend on when we are needed. We plan to leave southeast Missouri in early to mid January and head farther south in order to escape some of the cold. We are tentatively looking to travel to the southwestern US by spring, then head to some higher elevations, possibly to the Pacific Northwest by summer. Our plan for autumn of 2019 is to spend early September through mid to late November in the Northeastern US. Having said this, our plans are not set in stone, so feel free to contact us anyway. We are open to amazing opportunities 🙂

Finally… and MOST importantly… we have a little lovebug, named MeowMeow, who also requires our love and attention. Depending on the situation, such as whether or not you have pets, and the type of pets, we may opt to remain in the van with our kitty, as she is easily spooked. However, if she feels comfortable with the environment, we would prefer to bring her inside. Regardless, your home and pets (if applicable) will not be neglected. We are pretty flexible and willing to work with you to ensure your needs are met, as well as ours. If the environment is too stressful for MeowMeow and we choose to stay in our van, we will still remain onsite in order to continually look after your property and/or animals as often as you would like. We will most definitely ensure your furbabies get lots of attention and affection!

Oh… by the way… we would be happy to help out with ‘farm’ animals, as well, as long as they are companion animals. We love horses, cows, pigs, etc., but we cannot spend time with them if they are used for any other purpose than companions. We don’t have a lot of experience caring for these types of animals, but I’m sure we could feed and water them, as well as give them lots of affection.

So, please send us a message if you think we would be a good fit for your situation! Thank you!

Would like to sit in:

  • United States,
  • Bahamas,
  • Canada,
  • Italy,
  • Ireland,
  • United Kingdom,
  • Mexico,
Preferred length of sit:
Min 1 Weeks

Sign in or register to send messages

You must be a member to send messages Click Here to sign up
already a member, login here