Sitters - Kindred Spirits House Sit or Swap

House Sitter

Zoe – Let Me Take Exceptional Care of Your Pets and Home – Mature Ex-Executive
Companion animal care experience
Dog, Cat, Fish, Birds, Rabbits
Will sit non-vegetarian companion animals
Yes
Wish to bring our own companion animal
No
Status
Single
Vegan / Vegetarian
Vegetarian
Willing to do gardening
No

Hello! I’m responsible, conscientious and most importantly – I love animals! In fact, I’ve been stealing time with as many as I can to get my cuddle fix! This is through cat sitting, house sitting for friends and family, as well as volunteering at a shelter when I lived in Santa Monica where I walked the dogs and socialised with the cats.

I quit my 9-5 exec-level job in June to travel, write and get inspired and this is where you come in! I would love the opportunity to take great care of your pets and home. I’m a nomad at heart and the grind of the 40-hour work week wore through my creative juices so I said sayonara to the corporate life and hello to adventure so I can work on my freelance writing and other creative pursuits. I believe inspiration is found in so many places and that time house sitting for you will further ignite my creative spirit. If it’s captivated you enough to make it your home, it’s only natural that it will spark something in me.

Added to this, I love, love, love pets so if I am house sitting a home with cats, dogs or small furry animals, then I’m going to be in heaven! I’m travel writing freelance now so I spend a fair amount of time at home – meaning more time is spent with your furry family! No need to worry about long periods unattended. I believe it’s an honour to be entrusted with your family members and I take the job very seriously.

Since quitting my job, I have been taking as many opportunities to connect with animals as possible on my trip around the world. I’ve been pet sitting where possible, as well as having extensive experience in the past for friends and family. I was also lucky to volunteer at a cattery/cat hotel in Sweden and was responsible for 12+ cats during my time there, including cleaning, play time and cuddles (tough job but someone has to do it).

I have had pets for as long as I can remember (and I’m 44 years old so that’s a while now). We grew up with cats, dogs rabbits and guinea pigs – never a dull moment at our house. Once I left home, I adopted an old-lady cat called Porschia (Norwegian forest) who I nursed through kidney issues and dementia so I’m experienced with administering medication too.

I can provide written references and a link to my volunteering review for the cattery. My professionalism and responsibility can be seen on my LinkedIn profile which adds to the pet-specific reviews (https://www.linkedin.com/in/zoemacfarlane/) and I can provide a New Zealand police report on request.

I would like to add that, as I own properties in New Zealand, I understand the level of care that a homeowner wants when left in the hands of others. I pride myself on leaving the place in the same condition as I find it so that the focus on your return home is a reconnection with your pets only.

Please get in touch if you think we’d be a good match!

*Note, I will consider many locations around the world but there is not the option to select ‘worldwide’ on the profile.

Would like to sit in:

  • Australia,
  • Indonesia,
  • Thailand,
  • United States, California,
  • United States, Arizona,
  • United States, New York,
Preferred length of sit:
Min 2 Weeks

Sign in or register to send messages

You must be a member to send messages Click Here to sign up
already a member, login here
Menu