Sitters - Kindred Spirits House Sit or Swap

House Sitter

Sophie & Joshua – We are fun, and loving, taking personal steps towards a strong secure future
Companion animal care experience
Dog, Cat, Fish, Birds, Sheep, Pigs, Goats, Horses, Lizards, Wallabies, turtles…
Will sit non-vegetarian companion animals
Yes
Wish to bring our own companion animal
No
Status
Couple
Vegan / Vegetarian
Vegan
Willing to do gardening
Yes

Hello house sitter seekers!
Josh and Sophie here, we are looking forward to meeting you.
We are a mature couple, establishing ourselves in the big city after years jumping around New Zealand, Australia and the rest of the world chasing work, degrees and adventures.

I, Sophie, am a restoration ecologist working weekdays 7am to 3.30pm. This certainly is a solid chunk out the day but I am around all other hours to care for your pets, maintain your garden and keep your home tidy and secure.
I am very passionate about the environment, working to restore natural ecosystems throughout the greater Auckland area. In my free time I love to walk, practice yoga, read books and sometimes in the weekends ride horses.
I have quite the green thumb for plants and a love for animals of all shapes and sizes. I grew up in Mt Eden but have been out of the city for the most part since 2010. I am very excited to permanently return and be close to friends and family.
I have a degree in Zoology and Marine Science and have since taken jobs in Wellington, and the Whitsundays in Australia.
I have grown up with dogs, cats, fish, birds and guinea pigs of my own, plus farm animals such as pigs, horses and sheep. I have worked with dogs and cats at Critter Creek kennels and cattery some years ago, walking, feeding, and grooming. I have also had several house sitting type experiences, plus many jobs with plants and wild animals including my current one.
For several weeks I house-sat for a family with a large house, 5 horses, 3 dogs and 2 cats. While studying at Otago University I worked as a horse trainer and on several occasions I stayed on site to manage the property of 23 horses, and 2 dogs, plus a heard of cattle, chickens and goats when my managers had to go away. They felt comfortable to do these trips because they knew they could rely on me.

Joshua here, I am undergoing a career change from Dive Instructor to Software Developer. I am about to start doing a Developer Bootcamp, for the most part I will be based from home. I hope to combine this with my genetics degree to become involved in bioinformatics and medical genetics.
I’ve cared for goats, dogs, cats, birds, elephants, turtles, and rats over the years. I have always loved the company of animals and I am sure they will love me!
I have previous experience house sitting for friends and family where I’ve looked after their pets and homes while they have gone on holiday.
I like mountain biking, swimming, diving and hiking. I also enjoy cooking up a good meal and then relaxing with a movie in the evening.
I am from Wellington originally and am new to the Auckland region. I’m looking forward to exploring the area.

We are interested in house sitting for the flexibility in location, for a minimalistic means of living in the city, close to work, and for the opportunity to share our time with animals. We are trusted house sitters and competent pet carers.

We naturally like to live in a tidy space so are quick to jump on to house cleaning and general care as well.
If you choose us as your house sitters you can expect to return from your holiday to a clean, tidy house, fresh thriving plants and happy, healthy animals.
You can also expect regular contact and photo updates along the way if you wish.
We look forward to hearing from you!

Would like to sit in:

  • New Zealand, Auckland, Auckland,
Preferred length of sit:
Min 2 Weeks

Sign in or register to send messages

You must be a member to send messages Click Here to sign up
already a member, login here
Menu