House Sits - Kindred Spirits House Sit or Swap

House Sit Available

Huge house bordering national park and waterfalls.
House TypeHouse
House SettingSuburban
Beds Available8
Vehicle Exchange AvailableNegotiable
Children OkYes
Garden Care RequiredYes
Preferred Vegan/vegetarianVegan
Companions at HouseDog
Non-vegetarian companion at HouseNo

We have a large, four bedroom house (with enough beds to sleep 11 people or 14 using two inflatable beds) on the edge of Springbrook National Park. There are hiking trails at the end of our street, with beautiful waterfalls and swimming holes, and a lookout with a view to the Gold Coast. There are other hikes a short drive away.

Our home runs as a weekend yoga and meditation retreat* when we’re not travelling, so we have an abundance of yoga mats and props for those who enjoy yoga. Other than beds, it is sparsely furnished (mats and cushions rather than sofas) but comfortable.

We have a very well equipped kitchen with a Thermomix, smoothie blenders, air fryer, electric grater, induction cooktops, rice cooker, yoghurt maker, slow cooker, and plenty of crockery, cutlery, and cooking equipment. There is an oven but we choose not to use it due to previous residents cooking animals in it. Our dining table seats ten people, and we have two occasional chairs if you need to squeeze in a couple more people.

There is a bathroom with a bathtub, a separate toilet, and an ensuite off the master bedroom. The master bedroom has a king sized bed, and the other upstairs bedroom has a queen and two single beds. Downstairs there are two bedrooms; one with a queen sized bed, and the other with a queen and two singles. We have plenty of bedding, towels etc. so you only need to bring your clothes and a toothbrush!

We have good Wifi (100GB per month) and can leave you a mobile phone if needed, as many carriers don’t work up here. We don’t have a television.

The two upstairs bedrooms have a deck spanning the length of the house, with a comfortable rocking chair, morning sun, and views of the treetops. It’s a great place to sit for breakfast or to meditate.

We have a front loading washing machine and a dryer, plus a drying rack and a 30m removable line on the upstairs deck (we prefer to dry our clothes outside).

We are on tank water so any housesitters need to be aware of this. There is no rubbish service – all waste must be taken to the nearby garbage disposal facility, which is a six-minute drive away.

The nearest supermarket is a 25-minute drive away (or you can get Woolworths to deliver for $12). There are local roadside stalls selling in-season fruit and vegetables, salad mix etc. There’s a community hall offering weekly yoga classes and other community events from time to time.

You’ll be sharing the house with our gorgeous Staffordshire Bull Terrier, Ruby. Ruby turned 11 in September but still behaves like a puppy. She is super affectionate and loves to snuggle, and would love someone who will share their bed with Ruby. (Ruby thinks the king sized bed is hers!)

Ruby doesn’t get along with other dogs, so, unfortunately, we can’t have sitters who need to bring their fur babies. She’s great with people and super friendly. She likes to go on daily walks (at least once; twice preferable) and we’ll show you where it’s best to walk her to avoid running into other dogs.

As our home is quite a distance from the city, this sit is best suited to those who enjoy a quiet lifestyle in nature, and ideally suited to those who work from home or are unemployed or retired. We work from home, so Ruby is used to spending most days in our company and doesn’t like to be left alone for too long.

Ruby is vegan, and we don’t allow any animal products into our home, so this position would be best suited to a vegan person/couple/family. Children and babies are welcome but the house is on three levels with open stairs so we may need to communicate about whether it’s suitable depending on the ages of your children.

We have a VW Tiguan, which can be available to the sitter subject to a deposit for any claims that need to be made ($800 – refundable if no claims are made). It is in excellent, undamaged condition. We have two car seats available for families with young children.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions! This position comes up every February/March, May/June, and October/November (usually for five weeks per sit).

~

*If you were interested in running the retreats in our absence, we have a teacher who comes in, so as long as you have some interest in spirituality and yoga, and can cook well, we could potentially keep running the retreats with you receiving a portion of the income. (Definitely not a requirement – just an option if you’re that way inclined.)

PLEASE NOTE: Some of the house photos are not ours, so show a microwave (which we don’t have) and a different fridge, washer, and dryer to what we have.

Australia, SPRINGBROOK, Ee-Jung Road
From – February 17, 2019
To – March 25, 2019
Flexible Dates – No

Sign in or register to send messages

You must be a member to send messages Click Here to sign up
already a member, login here